Catch Up on The IPL Live Cricket News!

Although the IPL season is over, the craze for it will never be. Now, before we enter the following season, we must be updated with all the IPL live cricket news that happened this season or even the last season, all the updates and changes that took place, the entry of new franchises, changes of team captains, and much more.

Firstly, let’s talk about the schedule of the IPL. In 2021, IPL was originally scheduled to take place from April 9. This season ran for about a month when it was postponed due to covid-19. It later got scheduled for September 19, 2021, and ended on October 15, 2021. The finals were between Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings, and the Kings won by 27 runs.

The highlight of the last season was that two new teams debuted – Lucknow Super Giants, which KL Rahul captains, and Gujarat Titans, which Hardik Pandya captains. This was the 15th season of the IPL series, and one may think that its popularity and craze will decline after some time, but if possible, it’s becoming more popular. IPL is one of the grandest cricket tournaments in the world, and it touches new heights every year.

This year, the IPL was held from March 26 to May 29. The season started with a smash between the previous year’s winners, Chennai Super Kings, and the runners-up, Kolkata Knight Riders. Now one may wonder how many matches are played in a season. So, this season, 74 matches were played in total. Seventy matches were group matches, while the rest four were play-offs. Play-offs mean the qualifiers, and Qualifier 1 takes place between the top two teams after the group stage.

The elimination round occurs between the teams on the table’s third and fourth numbers. Qualifier 2 takes place between the losing team of qualifier one and the winning teams in the elimination round. Then the final round takes place between the winner of qualifiers 1 and 2.

There was also a change in this year’s IPL format. Earlier, IPL was played in the form of a round-robin tournament wherein one team had to play the other team twice and then in the playoffs. But this time, teams were divided into two groups, and each team played 14 matches during the group stage. This format has only been used once before when two other teams – Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala were part of the IPL tournament.

How Were These Teams Divided Into Groups?

All the teams were allotted groups based on their performance in the previous seasons. For example, Mumbai Indians, five-time champions, were placed in group 1, and Chennai Super Kings, four-time champions, were placed in group 2. Coming back, let’s talk a little about some of the best matches and moments of the previous seasons.

Royal Challengers Bangalore is one of the favorite teams of people. This team has a great fanbase. In 2018, it was captained by Virat Kohli. The Royal Challengers were in a tough spot at that time as they had only managed to win 3 out of the ten games they had played. They needed to win each of their remaining four games to be able to stand any remote chances of qualifying for the playoffs. The Royal Challengers Bangalore played against the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and experienced a comfortable five-wicket victory.

In 2020, one of the matches was played between the Delhi Capital and Mumbai Indians, and the latter managed to defeat the other team with a whopping five wickets with two balls to spare. These two teams were the most consistent in the IPL 2020 season, and a match between them was equal to a clash of swords in IPL in Abu Dhabi. Both teams stood at par with the quality of players, but the Mumbai Indians had an upper edge in bowling because of the fast pace bowlers, Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult. The experience these players had was enough to knock Delhi Capitals out of that match.

In the 2022 season’s final match, there was a smash between one of the old teams, Rajasthan Royals, and one of the debut teams, Gujarat Titans. Although Gujarat Titans was a new team, it did not even feel like that for a second. The way it won nine matches out of 12 stole the hearts of the Indian people. The captain of the team, Hardik Pandya, was appreciated for his leadership skills and a solid comeback after a severe injury. Although Rajasthan Royals played their best and gave some good nail-biting moments, the credit will be due to Gujarat Titans. Being a first-time team, the Gujarat Titans stormed their way to the top of the table and secured a safe spot by conquering the playoffs.

This season belonged to Jos Buttler as he scored 863 runs during the season, with four explosive centuries, most fours and sixes, and the orange cap named after him. In the first half of the season, Jos Buttler smashed three stunning centuries followed by a string of low scores, something that bothered him. But he got his touch back during the playoffs and bounced back, registering another half century and a century in both the qualifiers.

This was Yuzvendra Chahal’s first season in pink, and it turned out to be rewarding as he took the maximum number of wickets this season, grabbing himself the purple cap. Chahal bagged the only hat-trick of the season and knocked 27 wickets in totals during the season.

Another shocker this season for the Rajasthan Royals, was Ashwin. The fans were shocked when the management sent Ashwin ahead in the batting order this season. Despite his batting position, the bowler showed that he is more than an off-spinner.

Irrespective of whoever wins and takes the cup to their home, this season was one of the best seasons, and it keeps on getting better every year.

Wrapping Up

All the above-mentioned were some of the IPL Live cricket news that happened in this year’s IPL tournament. These would have surely served some sparkling insights about the happenings taking place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *